Ex Tax Price

https://forum.kartris.com/Topic6281.aspx
Print Topic | Close Window

By brianwatson - Wed 18 Nov 2015
I'm new to Kartris so what I'm about to say may be wrong but it seems as if product pricing is controlled at version level and the price input includes tax.

Here in the UK and other parts of Europe Value Added Tax (VAT) is susceptible to change and so if VAT changed I'd need to edit the price of all product versions. Surely this is wrong. I would expect the ex VAT price to be stored and the tax added so that in the event of such a tax change only the tax rate value needs updated and this in turn is added to the base price to calculate the new value inc. VAT.

Now I accept that in the event of a tax rate change some retailers might chose to leave prices of existing stock as they are and if that was the design ethos then there should be an option to add or deduct the tax from the input value so that the actual ex VAT price is stored and the current retail price including vat given if a calculated (+ VAT) price is not to be used, but looking at the tblKartrisVersion attributes this does not appear to be available.

Many of my clients also deal business to business and so wish to show the Ex VAT price in addition to the inc VAT price, but from the templates this is only possible when multiple versions are set even if there is indeed only the one version. Do I have to build custom templates to overcome this and if so how might this be affected with future updates?
By Paul - Wed 18 Nov 2015
Kartris can handle EU vat, assuming you correctly choose 'EU' as the tax regime during setup. If not, you can change that within the web config file.

Once in the back end, you can tweak settings for tax, which determines whether the prices you enter and inc or ex vat.

http://userguide.kartris.com/Default.aspx?headID=72